June 2006
   
 

By Barry Boyce
CyclingRevealed Historian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Tour de France 1989 "Stage by Stage"

Prologue Saturday, July 1, 1989, Luxembourg , 7.8 km ITT

1. Eric Breukink (Ned) 9'54"

2. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +6"

3. Sean Kelly (Ire)

4. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

Fignon +0.02 (2nd place overall) over LeMond (4th)

X

Stage 1 Sunday, July 2, 1989, Luxembourg (Lux)-Lux, 135 km

28. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +4'40

32. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

Fignon +0.02 (5th) over LeMond (7th)

x

Stage 2 Sunday, July 2, 1989, Luxembourg , 46 km TTT

1. SUPER U 53'48"

(Fignon, Garde, Riis)

5. ADR +51"

(LeMond, Martens, Museeuw)

Fignon +51 (3rd) over LeMond (14th)

x

Stage 3 Monday, July 3, 1989, Lux to Spa/Francorchamps (Bel), 241 km

31. Greg LeMond ( USA ) +50

51. Laurent Fignon (Fra) same time

Fignon +51 (4th) over LeMond (15th)

x

Stage 4 Tuesday, July 4, 1989, Liege (Bel) to Wasquehal, 255 km

58. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +5

89. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

Fignon +51 (4th) over LeMond (14th)

x

Stage 5 Thursday, July 6, 1989, Dinard to Rennes, 73 km ITT

1. Greg LeMond (USA) 1h38'12"

3. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +56"

LeMond +5 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

x

Stage 6 Friday, July 7, 1989, Rennes to Futuroscope, 259 km

31. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +1'36

32. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

LeMond +5 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

x

Stage 7 Saturday, July 8, 1989, Poitiers to Bordeaux, 258 km

22. Greg LeMond (USA) +4"

61. Laurent Fignon (Fra) same time

LeMond +5 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

x

Stage 8 Sunday, July 9, 1989, La Bastide d'Armagnac to Pau, 157 km

33. Greg LeMond ( USA ) +20"

35. Laurent Fignon (Fra) same time

LeMond +5 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

x

The serious racing begins in the Pyrenees Mountains :

Stage 9 Monday, July 10, 1989, Pau to Cauterets/Cambasque, 147 km

7. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +1'58

8. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

LeMond +5 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

x

Stage 10 Tuesday, July 11, 1989, Cauterets to Superbagneres, 136 km

7. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +3'26"

9. Greg LeMond (USA) +3'38"

Fignon +7 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 11 Wednesday, July 12, 1989, Luchon to Blagnac, 158 km

16. Laurent Fignon (Fra) 3h37'47"

18. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

Fignon +7 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 12 Thursday, July 13, 1989, Toulouse to Montpellier, 242 km

25. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +21'45

46. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

Fignon +7 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 13 Friday, July 14, 1989, Montpellier to Marseille, 177 km

27. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +1'25

29. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

Fignon +7 (1 st ) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 14 Saturday, July 15, 1989, Marseille to Gap, 240 km

39. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +2

65. Greg LeMond (USA) same time

Fignon +7 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 15 Sunday, July 16, 1989, Gap to Orcieres Merlette, 39 km ITT

5. Greg LeMond (USA) +57"

10. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +1'44"

LeMond +40 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

x

Stage 16 Tuesday, July 18, 1989, Gap to Briancon, 175 km

4. Greg LeMond (USA) +4'51"

9. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +5'04"

LeMond +53 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

x

Stage 17 Wednesday, July 19, 1989, Briancon to L'Alpe d'Huez, 162 km

3. Laurnet Fignon (Fra) +1'09"

5. Greg LeMond (USA) +2'28"

Fignon +26 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 18 Thursday, July 20, 1989, Bourg d'Oisans to Villard de Lans, 92km

1. Laurent Fignon (Fra) 2h31'28"

6. Greg LeMond (USA) +24"

Fignon +50 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 19 Friday, July 21, 1989, Villard de Lans to Aix les Bains, 125 km

1. Greg LeMond (USA) 3h17'53"

2. Laurnet Fignon (Fra) same time

Fignon +50 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 20 Saturday, July 22, 1989, Aix les Bains to L'Isle d'Abeau, 130 km

40. Greg LeMond (USA) 3h26'16"

50. Laurent Fignon (Fra) same time

Fignon +50 (1st) over LeMond (2nd)

x

Stage 21 Sunday, July 23, 1989, Versailles to Paris/Ch Elys, 24 km ITT

1. Greg LeMond (USA) 26'57"

3. Laurent Fignon (Fra) +58"

LeMond +8 (1st) over Fignon (2nd)

 

 
       
         
         
   


All materials are property of CyclingRevealed and Copyright © 2010
unless otherwise noted

Advertising Information | Contact Us
-